News » 5 October 2017

Awards and Jury

The Black Tulip Award

The jury consists of actress Bo Maerten (Wolf, Mannenharten 2), director/animator Marc de Leeuw, who created music videos for Yung Internet, among others, and animations for the VPRO, and journalist and producer Marloes den Hoed, who works for IDFA and Movies That Matters.

Seven films are competing for the Black Tulip Award, the award for the best fantastic film. They are: 78/52 – Alexandre Philippe (US), Are We Not Cats – Xander Robin (Canada), The Darkness – Daniel Castro Zimbron (Mexico, France), The Death and Life of Otto Bloom – Cris Jones (Australia), Happiness – Sabu (Japan), Molly – Thijs Meuwese & Colinda Bongers (The Netherlands) and Will You Be There? – Hong Ji-young (South Korea).

Prior winners: 2016: Into the Forest – Patricia Rozema | 2015: Sunrise – Partho Sen Gupta | 2014: Coherence – James Ward Byrkit | 2013: Wolf Children – Mamoru Hosoda | 2012: Eddie: The Sleepwalking Cannibal – Boris Rodriguez | 2011: Bedevilled – Jang Cheol-so | 2010: The Seventh Circle – Arpad Sopsits

The Méliès d’argent

The jury comprises actress Terence Schreurs (Flikken Maastricht, Kristen), visual artist Floris Kaayk and Director of Photography Diderik Evers.

The Méliès d’argent is the award for best European fantastic film. The award is an initiative of the European Fantastic Film Festival Federation (EFFFF), of which Imagine is a co-founder. See also www.melies.org.

This year’s competition consists of:
Aloys – Tobias Nölle (Switzerland, France), The Bar – Álex de la Iglesia (Spain), Kaleidoscope – Rupert Jones (United Kingdom), K-Shop – Dan Pringle (United Kingdom), Loop – Isti Madarász (Hungary), Samurai Rauni – Mika Rättö (Finland), Skins – Eduardo Casanova (Spain) en Without Name – Lorcan Finnegan (Ireland).

Prior winners: 2016: The Survivalist – Stephen Fingleton | 2015: Liza, the Fox-Fairy – Károly Ujj Mészáros | 2014: Der Samurai – Till Kleinert | 2013: Fin – Jorge Torregrossa | 2012: Mientras duermes – Jaume Balagueró | 2011: Balada triste de trompeta – Alex de la Iglesia | 2010: Transmission – Roland Vranik.

The winners will be announced Friday the 21st of April, during the closing ceremony. After this ceremony the film  Buster’s Mal Heart  (Sarah Adina Smith, VS 2016) will be screened.

Awards and Jury Imagine Film Festival